For Immediate Release:   November 1, 2012



VIERA, FLA. - Ian Chan, a junior at West Shore Jr./Sr. High School, has been selected as Brevardís 2012-2013 Sunshine State Scholar. Included below is a complete list of the Brevard Sunshine State Scholar finalists.

This prestigious award recognizes superior achievement in science, technology, engineering and mathematics. Selection was based upon test scores, GPA, advanced coursework, and successful participation in co-curricular and extracurricular STEM activities.

Chan and other Sunshine State Scholars from around the state will be honored in February at a two-day Sunshine State Scholars Program in Orlando.           For more information, please contact Walter Christy, Director of Secondary Programs at 321-633-1000, ext. 310, or Cyndi Van Meter, Associate Superintendent of Curriculum and Instruction at 321-633-1000, ext. 300.
2012-13 Brevard Sunshine State Scholar Finalists
John Garrett, Astronaut High School
Kevin Nguyen, Bayside High School
Rachel Rintelmann, Cocoa High School
Albert Halbing, Cocoa Beach Jr./Sr. High School *
Rebecca Fleeman, Eau Gallie High School
Diana Konarzewski, Edgewood Jr./Sr High School
Brian Truong, Heritage High School
Nina Li, Merritt Island High School
Ali Mata, Melbourne High School
Luis Salazar, Palm Bay High School
Coleman Hilburn, Rockledge High School
Yasmine Zubi, Satellite High School
Aaron Giles, Space Coast Jr./Sr High School
Luke Evans, Viera High School
Ian Chan, West Shore Jr./Sr High School **
**District Winner
* District Alternate